In his Kosmos lectures Alexander von Humboldt mentioned the sudden appearance of the island Sabrina in the context of volcanism. A possible source of his knowledge can be found in the Transactions of the Royal Society London in 1812. There Captain S. Tillard described his adventures of witnessing the eruption of an underwater volcano in the Azores in 1811 that resulted in the appearance of an island. Tillard explored the island that he named Sabrina and published the description of his adventures in 1812. Here we present an excerpt of his account focussing on detail of the eruption and the island's evolution. For our digital update of the Kosmos lectures we support his account with modern photographs that provide an excellent visualisation of his description:

Captain Tillard's Eye Witness Account

APPROACHING the island of St. Michael's, on Sunday the l2th of June, 1811 , in His Majesty's Sloop Sabrina, [..] we occasionally observed, rising in the horizon, two or three columns of smoke,[..]. [..] from the smoke increasing and ascending [..] and having heard [..], that in the preceding January or February a volcano had burst out within in the sea near St. Michael’s, we immediately concluded that the smoke we saw proceeded from that cause [..] On our anchoring in the road of Ponta del Gada, we found this conjecture correct [..]; the eruption of January having totally subsided, and the present one having only burst forth two days prior to our approach, and about three miles distant from the one before [..].

I set off from the city of Porta del Gada on the morning of the 14th, in company with Mr. Read, the Consul General of the Azores and two other gentlemen. After riding about twenty miles across the NW end of the island of St Michael’s, we came to the edge of a cliff from whence the volcano burst suddenly upon our view in the most terrific and awful grandeur. [..]

Imagine an immense body of smoke rising from the sea, the surface of which was marked by the silvery ripling of the waves, occasioned by the light and steady breezes incidental to those climates in summer. In a quiescent state, it had the appearance of a circular cloud revolving on the water like an horizontal wheel, in various and irregular involutions, expanding itself gradually on the lee side [..]

Suddenly a column of the blackest cinders, ashes, and stones would shoot up in form of a spire at an angle of from ten to twenty degrees from a perpendicular line, the angle of inclination being universally to windward: this was rapidly succeeded by a second, third, and fourth, each acquiring greater velocity, and overtopping the other till they had attained an altitude as much above the level of our eye, as the sea was below it.

As the impetus [..] diminished, and their ascending motion had nearly ceased, they broke into various branches resembling a groupe of pines [..] These again forming themselves into festoons of white feathery smoke in the most fanciful manner imaginable, intermixed with the finest particles of falling ashes, which at one time assumed the appearance of innumerable plumes of black and white ostrich feathers surmounting each other; at another, that of the light wavy branches of a weeping willow.

During these bursts, the most vivid flashes of lightning, continually issued from the densest part of the volcano; and the cloud of smoke now ascending to an altitude much above the highest point to which the ashes were projected, rolled off in large masses of fleecy clouds, gradually expanding themselves before the wind in a direction nearly horizontal, and drawing up to them a quantity of water spouts, which formed a most beautiful and striking addition to the general appearance of the scene.

That part of the sea, where the volcano was situated, was upwards of thirty fathoms deep, and at the time of our viewing it the volcano was only four days old. Soon after our arrival on the cliff; a peasant observed he could discern a peak above the water: we looked, but could not see it [..] However, in less than half an hour it was plainly visible, and before we quitted the place, [..] about three hours from the time of our arrival, a complete crater was formed above the water, not less than twenty feet high on the side where the greatest quantity of ashes fell; the diameter of the crater being apparently about four or five hundred feet.

The great eruptions were generally attended with a noise like the continued firing of cannon and musquetry intermixed, as also with slight shocks of earthquakes [..] one of the most magnificent bursts took place which we had yet witnessed, accompanied by a very severe shock of an earthquake. The instantaneous and involuntary movement of each was to spring, upon his feet [..] we observed a large portion of the face of the cliff, about fifty yards on our left, falling, which it did with a violent crash. So soon as our first consternation had a little subsided, we removed about ten or a dozen yards further from the edge of the cliff, and finished our dinner.

On the succeeding day, June 15th, having the Consul and some other friends on board, I [..] proceeded with the ship towards the volcano, with the intention of witnessing a night view; [..] we were greatly disappointed, from the wind freshening and the weather becoming thick and hazy, and also from the volcano itself being clearly more quiescent than it was the preceding day. It seldom emitted any lightning, [..]. On passing directly under the great cloud of smoke, about three or four miles distant from the volcano, the decks of the ship were covered with fine black ashes, which fell intermixt with small rain. [..]

On opening the volcano clear of the NW part of the island, after dark on the 16th, we witnessed one or two eruptions that, had the ship been near enough, would have been awfully grand. It appeared one continued blaze of lightning; [..].

Returning again towards St. Michael's on the 4th of July, I [..] pass with the ship very close to the island, which was now completely formed by the volcano, being nearly the height of Matlock High Tor, about eighty yards above the sea. At this time it was perfectly tranquil, which [..] determined me to land, and explore it more narrowly.

I left the ship in one of the boats, accompanied by some of the officers. [..] we perceived that it was still smoking in many parts, and upon our reaching the island found the surf on the beach very high. Rowing round to the lee side, with some little difficulty, by the aid of an oar, as a pole, I jumped on shore, and was followed by the other officers. We found a narrow beach of black ashes, from which the side of the island rose [..] too steep to admit of our ascending; and where we could have clambered up, the mass of matter was much too hot to allow our proceeding more than a few yards in the ascent.

The declivity below the surface of the sea was equally steep, having seven fathoms water, scarce the boat's length from the shore, and at the distance of twenty or thirty yards, we sounded twenty-five fathoms.

From walking round it, in about twelve minutes, I should judge that it was something less than a mile in circumference; but the most extraordinary part was the crater, the mouth of which, on the side facing St. Michael's, was nearly level with the sea. It was filled with water, at that time boiling, and was emptying itself into the sea, by a small stream about six yards over, and by which I should suppose it was continually filled again at high water. This stream, close to the edge of the sea, was so hot, as only to admit the finger to be dipped suddenly in, and taken out again immediately. It appeared evident, by the formation of this part of the island, that the sea had, during the eruptions, broke into the crater in two places, as the east side of the small stream was bounded by a precipice, a cliff between twenty and thirty feet high forming a peninsula of about the same dimensions in width, and from fifty to sixty feet long, connected with the other part of the island by a narrow ridge of cinders and lava, as an isthmus of from forty to fifty feet in length, from which the crater rose in the form of an amphitheatre.

This cliff, at two or three miles distance from the island, had the appearance of a work of art resembling a small fort or block house. The top of this we were determined, if possible, to attain; but the difficulty [..] was considerable; the only way [..] was up the side of the isthmus, which was so steep, that the only mode by which we could effect it, was by fixing the end of an oar at the base, with the assistance of which we forced ourselves up in nearly a backward direction.

Having reached the summit of the isthmus, we found another difficulty, for it was impossible to walk upon it, as the descent on the other side was immediate, and as steep as the one we had ascended; but by throwing our legs across it, as would be done on the ridge of a house, and moving ourselves forward by our hands, we at length reached that part of it where it gradually widened itself and formed the summit of the cliff, which we found to have a perfectly flat surface [..].

Judging this to be the most conspicuous situation, we here planted the Union, and left a bottle sealed up containing a small account of the origin of the island, and of our having landed upon it, and naming it Sabrina Island.

Within the crater I found the complete skeleton of a guardfish, the bones of, which being perfectly burnt, fell to pieces upon attempting to take them up [..] By the account of the inhabitants on the coast of St. Michael's, great numbers of fish had been destroyed during the early part of the eruption, as large quantities, probably suffocated or poisoned, were occasionally found drifted into the small inlets or bays.

The island, like other volcanic productions, is composed principally of porous substances, and generally burnt to complete cinders, with occasional masses of a stone, which I should suppose to be a mixture of iron and lime-stone; but have sent you specimens to enable you to form a better judgment than you possibly can by any description of mine.


Text Source:
Tillard, S. (1812) “A Narrative of the Eruption of a Volcano in the Sea off the Island of St. Michael” Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London 102: pp. 152-158.

In seinen Kosmos-Vorlesungen berichtete Alexander von Humboldt im Zusammenhang mit Vulkanismus über die plötzlich entstandene Insel Sabrina. Eine mögliche Quelle für sein Wissen ist der Bericht des Britischen Captain S. Tillard. Dieser beobachtete den Ausbruch eines Untersee-Vulkans und die daraus resultierende Erschaffung der Insel in den Azoren im Jahr 1811. Ein Jahr später veröffentlichte er seine Beobachtungen in den Transactions of the Royal Society London. Aus dieser Veröffentlichung haben wir hier den Teil zusammengetragen, der unmittelbar auf die Entstehung der Insel Bezug nimmt. Für unsere digitale Aktualisierung der Kosmos-Vorlesungen haben wir aktuelle Bilder eingefügt, die Tillards dramatische Beschreibungen visualisieren:

Captain Tillards Augenzeugenbericht

Als wir uns der Insel St. Michael, am Sonntag dem l2. des Juni 1811, in der Korvette HM Sabrina näherten, [..] da beobachteten wir gelegentlich, zwei oder drei Rauchsäulen sich im Horizont erhebend [..] Da der Rauch zunahm und höher anstieg und wir zudem gehört hatten [..], dass im vorhergehenden Januar oder Februar ein Vulkan inmitten der See in der Nähe von St. Michael hervorbrach, beschlossen wir sofort, dass der Rauch diese Ursache hatte [..] Bei unserem Anlegen in der Straße von Ponta del Gada fanden wir unsere Vermutung bestätigt [..]; der Ausbruch des Januars war komplett verraucht, der Gegenwärtige jedoch, hatte nur zwei Tage vor unserem Anlanden begonnen, und zwar etwa drei Meilen vom vorherigen entfernt [..].

Von der Stadt Porta del Gada aus brach ich am Morgen des 14., in der Gesellschaft von Herrn Read, dem Generalkonsul der Azoren und zwei anderen Herren auf. Nach einem Ritt von etwa zwanzig Meilen über das NW-Ende der Insel von St. Michael erreichten wir den Rand einer Klippe, vor welcher der Vulkan nach unserer Wahrnehmung plötzlich in ungeheurer und schrecklichster Großartigkeit zerplatzte[..]

Stellen Sie sich einen riesigen Rauchkörper vor, der sich vom Meer erhebt; die Meeresoberfläche durch das silberfarbene Plätschern der Wellen gekennzeichnet, die durch das Licht und die stetigen Brisen verursacht sind, wie sie in jenem Klima zum Sommer gehören. Im Ruhezustand hatte er das Äußere einer kreisförmigen Wolke, die auf dem Wasser wie ein horizontales Rad in verschiedenen und unregelmäßigen Involutionen kreist, sich aber allmählich auf der Lee-Seite ausbreitete [..]

Plötzlich schnellte eine Säule der schwärzesten Asche - mit Steinen versetzt - spitzförmig hervor. Dieser folgte schnell eine zweite, dritte und vierte in ansteigender Geschwindigkeit die vorherige übertrumpfend, bis sie eine Höhe weit über dem Niveau unseres Auges erreicht hatten.

Als sich der Impuls [..] abschwächte, und sich ihr Aufstieg fast legte, verzweigten sie sich ähnlich einer Gruppe von Kiefern. [..] Diese wiederum nahmen einmal die Formen von Girlanden weißen, federartigen Rauchs an, in der fantasievollsten Weise, die man sich vorstellen kann, vermischt mit den feinsten Partikeln fallender Asche, die aussah wie unzählige schwarze und weiße, sich aufeinander türmende Straußenfedern. Ein anderes Mal die Formen leichter wehender Zweige einer Trauerweide.

Während dieser Ausbrüche wurden unaufhörlich die lebhaftesten Blitze aus dem dichtesten Teil des Vulkans ausgestoßen. Die Rauchwolke, die jetzt weit über den höchsten Punkt hinausreichte, den die Asche noch erreicht hatte, rollte in großen Massen von Schäfchenwolken davon, sich allmählich vor dem Wind fast horizontal ausbreitend. Diese zogen eine Menge von Wassertüllen zu sich herauf, und bildeten so eine vorzüglichste und bemerkenswerte Zugabe zur allgemeinen Natur der Szenerie.

Dieser Teil des Meeres, in dem der Vulkan gelegen war, erreichte eine Tiefe von dreißig Faden, und zur Zeit unserer Betrachtung war der Vulkan nur vier Tage alt. Bald nach unserer Ankunft auf der Klippe bemerkte ein Bauer, dass er eine Spitze über dem Wasser wahrnehmen konnte: Wir konnten sie nicht sehen [..] Jedoch in weniger als einer halbe Stunde war sie sichtbar. Etwa drei Stunden nach unserer Ankunft bildete sich ein Krater über dem Wasser auf der Seite, auf der die meiste Asche gefallen war, nicht weniger als zwanzig Fuß hoch. Der Durchmesser des Kraters war vierhundert oder fünfhundert Fuß.

Die großen Ausbrüche wurden meist von einem Geräusch wie die fortlaufende Zündung von Kanonen und Musketen begleitet, vermischt mit geringen Erdstößen. Einer der großartigsten Ausbrüche machte sich jedoch durch einen sehr schweren Erdstoß bemerkbar. Bis dahin hatten wir den Ausblick an der Klippe bei einem Picknick genossen. Mit diesem Erdstoß jedoch sprangen wir sofort und unwillkürlich auf. Plötzlich sahen wir, dass etwa fünfzig Yard zu unserer Linken ein beträchtlicher Teil der Klippenfacade abbrach und mit großer Wucht hinabstürzte. Sobald sich unsere erste Betroffenheit etwas gesenkt hatte, entfernten wir uns etwa zehn oder zwölf Yard weiter vom Rand der Klippe, und beendeten unser Dinner.

Am folgenden Tag, am 15. Juni, begleiteten mich der Konsul und einige andere Freunde an Bord meines Schiffes zum Vulkan. Wir beabsichtigten, die nächtliche Szenerie näher zu betrachten. Wir wurden jedoch vom dickem Nebel außerordentlich enttäuscht, und auch der Vulkan selbst war eindeutig ruhiger als am vorangegangenen Tag. Er strahlte nur selten einen vereinzelten Blitz aus. Direkt unter der großen Rauchwolke, etwa drei oder vier Meilen vom Vulkan, wurde das Deck des Schiffs mit feiner schwarzer Asche bedeckt, die vermischt mit feinem Regen herabfiel.

Als wir uns am 16. dem NW-Teils der Insel nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit näherten, bemerkten wir einen oder zwei Ausbrüche, die, wäre das Schiff nahe genug gewesen, schrecklich großartig anzusehen gewesen wären. Sie erschienen als ein kontinuierlich andauernder Flammenblitz.

Erst am 4. Juli kehrten wir nach St. Michael zurück und passierten mit dem Schiff die Insel, die vom Vulkan gebildet wurde und fast die Höhe von Matlock High Tor erreichte, etwa achtzig Yard über dem Meer. Da es nun vollkommen ruhig war, bestimmte ich, anzulanden und sie näher zu erforschen.

Ich verließ das Schiff mit einigen Offizieren in einem der Boote. Wir bemerkten, dass die Insel noch in vielen Teilen rauchte. Wir fanden die Brandung am Strand der Insel sehr hoch vor. Nachdem ich mich zur Leeseite mit ein paar kleineren Schwierigkeiten mithilfe eines Ruders als Leitstange annäherte, sprang ich auf die Küste, gefolgt von den Offizieren. Wir fanden einen schmalen Strand aus schwarzer Asche, auf der Seite, auf der sich die Insel zu steil erhob, um sie zu erklettern. Die Stellen, die wir hätten erklettern können, waren zu heiß, um unser Vorhaben zu erlauben.

Die Abschüssigkeit unter der Oberfläche des Meeres war ebenso steil - sieben Faden tief knapp eine Bootslänge vor der Küste, und in der Entfernung von zwanzig oder dreißig Yards loteten wir fünfundzwanzig Faden.

Da ich sie in etwa zwölf Minuten umlaufen konnte, gehe ich davon aus, dass die Insel etwas weniger als eine Meile im Kreisumfang war; aber der außergewöhnlichste Teil war der Krater, dessen Mund, auf der St. Michael zugewandten Seite, fast auf Meeresniveau lag. Er war mit Wasser gefüllt, das damals noch kochte, und sich durch einen kleinen Strom von etwa sechs Yard ins Meer entleerte, und durch den, so nehme ich an, er ständig wieder bei Hochwasser gefüllt würde. Dieser Strom, nahe dem Meeresrand, war so heiß, dass, wenn man nur den Finger kurz eintauchte, ihn sofort wieder herausziehen musste.

Es war offensichtlich, dass bei der Bildung dieses Teils der Insel das Meer während der Ausbrüche an zwei Stellen in den Krater eingebrochen war. Denn die Ostseite des kleinen Stroms war durch einen Abgrund begrenzt - eine Klippe zwischen zwanzig und dreißig Fuß hoch, in Form einer 30 Fuß breiten und fünfzig bis sechzig Fuß langen Halbinsel. Sie war verbunden mit dem anderen Teil der Insel durch einen schmalen Kamm von Asche und Lava, als eine Landenge von vierzig bis fünfzig Fuß Länge, von der aus sich der Krater in der Form eines Amphitheaters erhob.

Diese Klippe, zwei oder drei Meilen von der Insel [Halbinsel?] entfernt, sah aus wie ein Kunstwerk, das einem kleinen Fort oder Blockhaus ähnelte. Deren Spitze beschlossen wir, wenn möglich, zu erreichen. Aber die Schwierigkeit war beträchtlich. Der einzige Weg war die Seite der Landenge, die so steil war, dass wir nur mithilfe eines an der Basis befestigten Ruders uns in fast einer rückwärts gerichteten Richtung hochbewegen konnten.

Den Gipfel der Landenge erreicht, fanden wir eine weitere Schwierigkeit vor. Denn es war unmöglich auf dieser zu laufen, weil der Abstieg auf der anderen Seite ebenso unmittelbar und steil war, wie auf derjenigen, die wir empor gestiegen waren. Aber indem wir unsere Beine darüber warfen, wie man auf dem Dach eines Hauses klettert, und uns mithilfe unserer Hände bewegten, erreichten wir einen breiteren Teil der Landzunge, die zum Gipfel der Klippe hin eine vollkommen flache Oberfläche bildete.

Dies als die beste Gelegenheit ansehend, hissten wir den Union Jack und hinterließen eine versiegelte Flasche mit einer kurzen Beschreibung des Ursprungs der Insel und unserer Erkundung derselben, die wir zudem Sabrina Island tauften.

Innerhalb des Kraters fand ich das komplette Skelett eines Guardfish, dessen Knochen vollständig verbrannt waren, und beim Versuch, sie zu bergen, sofort auseinander fielen. Nach Aussage der Küstenbewohner von St. Michael wurden große Mengen an Fisch während des ersten Teils des Ausbruchs ausgelöscht; eine Vielzahl, wahrscheinlich erstickt oder vergiftet, wurden in die Buchten getrieben.

Die Insel, wie andere Produkte vulkanischer Aktivität, setzte sich hauptsächlich aus porösen Substanzen zusammen, allgemein zu Asche verbrannt mit gelegentlichen Steineinschlüssen. Ich nehme an, es handelt sich dabei um eine Mischung aus Eisen und Kalkstein, habe Ihnen aber Muster gesandt, um Ihnen zu ermöglichen, sich ein besseres Urteil zu bilden, als Sie es vielleicht durch jegliche meiner Beschreibungen können.


Textquelle:
Tillard, S. (1812) “A Narrative of the Eruption of a Volcano in the Sea off the Island of St. Michael” Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London 102: pp. 152-158.

frei übersetzt von Petra Weschenfelder